7 Famous personalities with OCD

7 Famous personalities with OCD

Obsessive-compulsive disorder is an anxiety (psychiatric) disorder which is characterised by involuntary thoughts, unpleasant ideas, obsessions or behaviours. To know more about OCD read here http://splashbitsnr.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/know-obsessive-compulsive-disorder-ocd-and-best-ways-to-deal-with-it/

 Many famous personalities have been struggling with OCD symptoms. Having OCD doesn’t mean that you are mentally sick, it can be cured when you are in control.

7 Famous personalities with OCD:

Charles Darwin:  He was an English naturalist. It is said (ocduk.org) that Darwin wrote about various obsessional thoughts and how he could not get away from them. He wrote a letter to his friend saying, “I could not sleep and whatever I did in the day haunted me at night with vivid and most wearing repetition.” The thoughts, as he himself put it, were of ‘horrid spectacle’.  He was getting bad thoughts during the night than in the day, as he could not distract at that time with any other activity.  Darwin felt himself to be ugly. He repeated the mantra ‘I have worked as hard as I could, and no man can do more than this’, 100 times.

David Beckham:  The footballer is obsessed with neatness, he is addicted to rearranging hotel rooms and lining up cans of soft drinks to make “everything perfect”. In the interview (ITV1), he said: “I’ve got this obsessive compulsive disorder where I have to have everything in a straight line or everything has to be in pairs. I’ll put my Pepsi cans in the fridge and if there’s one too many then I’ll put it in another cupboard somewhere.” He also said, “I’ll go into a hotel room and before I can relax, I have to move all the leaflets and all the books and put them in a drawer. Everything has to be perfect.”

Leonardo DiCaprio: He is an an American actor and film producer who, suffers from mild OCD from childhood days. He said,  “I’m able to say at some point, ‘OK, you’re being ridiculous, stop stepping on every gum stain you see. You don’t need to do that. You don’t need to walk 20ft back and put your foot on that thing. Nothing bad is going to happen.’” He also allowed his OCD tendencies to worsen during the movie, ‘The Aviator’, as he played the character of Howard Hughes, who also suffered from the disorder.

Justin Timberlake: An American pop singer-songwriter, record producer, dancer and actor, has an obsession with spending hours straightening objects and he feels to have particular food items stocked in his fridge. A source reported him as saying ‘I have OCD mixed with ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder). You try living with that. It’s complicated’.


Jessica Alba: American actress, had an obsession with perfectionism. She says that she suffered from OCD as a child. She told CosmoGirl, “It was like a panic would come over me and I had to do something, and once I did it, I was OK… It was really me needing to control something.”

Megan Fox: The actress and model admitted that she has OCD. She has problem using public toilets and restaurant silverware. She doesn’t use toilets without seat covers. She told Allure Magazine, “This is a sickness, I have an illness, this is not OK anymore.” She also said, “I’m never doing that again. Every time someone uses a bathroom and they flush, all the bacteria is shot into the air.”

Cameron Diaz: She is an American actress and model (former).She has an obsession with Doorknobs and washing hands repeatedly. She uses her elbows to push open doors. She rubs the doorknobs in her house so hard before opening (to clean them) that the original paint on the doorknobs fades away. She says, ‘I’m not scared of germs,’ she explains, ‘I’m just not into other people’s fluids…’

The causes of Obsessive compulsive disorder differ and it is possible to live normal and successful life. Care should be taken that the obsession or compulsions are avoided and treated on time.

2 thoughts on “7 Famous personalities with OCD

  1. Pingback: Simplify Your Life Week « As Time Goes…Buy

  2. Pingback: OCD Book Review: I Hardly Ever Wash My Hands by J.J. Keeler | Ocdbloggergirl's Blog: OCD, Life, and Other Misunderstandings

Leave a Reply

